Grove Music Online
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Emphasizes art music in the Western tradition (“classical music”), with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music. Topics include people, places, instruments, techniques, genres, and styles, from ancient times to the present.
Contains the full text of the largest and most comprehensive music encyclopedias in the English language, including the twenty-nine-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition), the four-volume New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the three-volume New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition).
- Grove Music Online has full-text search capabilities and subject classifications for browsing.
- Articles are written by scholars with subject expertise and include bibliographies pointing to important works of scholarship on the topic.
- Topics include musical genres and forms, musical instruments; places; organizations and institutions; musicology, theory, and criticism; and people (e.g., composers, performers, scholars, librettists, patrons, publishers, instrument makers, and others who influenced or contributed to the world of music).
- Many of the composer biographies include detailed lists of works.
- Many articles include visual examples, Sibelius-enabled musical examples (score and audio clips), and links to Web sites and audio archives.
- Annual updates include new articles and corrections to older articles.
for off campus access, please use this link: http://ezproxy.lib.uconn.edu/login?url=http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com/
Also Known As:
- New Grove Music Online
| Allowed Locations | Storrs and Regional Campuses, UConn Health Center, UConn Law School |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
| Concurrent Users | 3 |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

