Health & Wellness Resource Center
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Contains scholarly and popular articles on all aspects of medicine, health, and alternative health. Also includes health-related videos, medical & alternative health encyclopedias, health assessment tools, and a drug and herb finder.
Over 400 full-text medical journals and fitness magazines. Designed for nursing and allied health students, as well as consumer health researchers. In addition to magazines and journals, provides health-related pamphlets, and many encyclopedias, including:
Traditional medicine:
Traditional medicine:
- Advice for the Patient: Drug Information in Lay Language
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- Medical and Health Information Directory
- Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary
- PDR Family Guide to Nutrition and Health
- PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs
- PDR Family Guide to Over-the-Counter Drugs
- USP DI-Volume II
- PDR Family Guide to Natural Medicines and Healing Therapies
- PDR for Herbal Medicines
- Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Health
| Coverage Dates | some 1980s to current |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

