Encyclopedia Britannica Online
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Get basic information on thousands of topics covering history, politics, literature, news, and the arts.
Includes:
- An Internet directory that includes thousands of links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
- Access to Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- Britannica Heritage, which explores articles, images, and media from past editions of the encyclopedia. It will include studies of the changes through the editions, contributions from notable people, and collections of historical maps, etc.
- Multimedia and full-motion video.
- An additional timeline browse feature for searching historical events.
- An interactive World Atlas to search history, geography, government, or the economy.
- Timelines - Trace developments and changes in several different subject areas with Britannica's timelines. Available at three different reading levels and rich with images, the timelines include links to articles in the encyclopedias.
- Year in Review Browse - Gain new insights into significant events and people of the recent past by browsing by year through Britannica Books of the Year.
Also Known As:
- Encyclopædia Britannica Online
| Allowed Locations | Storrs and Regional Campuses, UConn Health Center, UConn Law School |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
| Concurrent Users | Silent |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

