Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More

Oxford African American Studies Center

Over 10,000 scholarly encyclopedia articles, from titles like the Encyclopedia of African American History, the Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, and the African American National Biography.
The core content includes the highly acclaimed Africana, which presents a powerful account of the African and African American experience in five volumes. The new Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895 documents the full range of the African American experience from the arrival of the black explorer, Esteban, who arrived with the Spanish in 1527, to the death of Frederick Douglass. The Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the present offers the most extensive treatment of African American history into the twenty-first century and will be available in late 2006. Bringing the contribution of African American women to the fore is the fascinating three-volume Black Women in America, Second Edition, edited by Darlene Clark Hine. And finally, the much-anticipated African American National Biography presents African American history through the lives of its people, ultimately offering over 6,000 biographies.
Access RestrictionsUniversity of Connecticut only
Concurrent UsersUnlimited

Policy for Use of Licensed Electronic Resources

Use of the databases linked from these pages is governed by the UConn Library's Use of Licensed Electronic Resources Policy.

For questions or assistance, please contact ermsupport@lib.uconn.edu.