ArchivesUSA Web
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Directory of over 5,500 repositories and over 130,000 collections of primary source material in the United States. Determine whether a collection contains material useful to your work along with contact information.
Detailed information including phone and fax numbers, hours of service, materials solicited, email and URLs for repositories. ArchivesUSA includes:
- The entire collection of The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) from 1959 to the present. NUCMC includes information gathered and indexed by the Library of Congress, covering more than 80,000 collections.
- Names and detailed subject indexing of over 50,000 collections whose finding aids have been published separately in Chadwyck-Healey's microfiche series, National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS). Collection descriptions submitted directly to us from repositories.
- More than 3,000 links to online finding aids.
| Coverage Dates | 1950-current |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

