CQ Electronic Library
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
The CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people who need a place to begin research on current topics. Covers current and controversial issues with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Browse through articles in the current issue or search for past articles using words, dates or other criteria.
The CQ Congress Collection provides an analytical survey of the history and development; powers; personalities; current developments; and legislation considered and passed by the United States Congress. A wealth of data with nonbiased commentary is organized under four sections:
- Public Policy Legislation presents legislative information and analysis under 23 broad topics such as agriculture, civil rights, national security, and transportation and hundreds of subtopics.
- Members of Congress includes biographical, political, and electoral data about every member of Congress since the 97th Congress (additional Congresses will be added periodically). It also includes links to each member's "CQ Key Votes" voting record and data on how various interest groups rate the members. An advanced member search allows the user to search for members by various demographic fields.
- CQ Key Votes organizes, by Congress and topic, the preferred data for scholarly research. Each individual "CQ Key Vote" is presented with a description of the vote along with the vote outcome by political party and includes links to the roll call vote, the full text of the legislation, and a state delegation vote map. It also provides the ability to conduct advanced vote analysis by various demographic fields.
- The Legislative Branch provides encyclopedic information, statistical data, legislative analysis, and Supreme Court case summaries relating to the structure and powers of Congress including committee information and its relationships with other branches of government and the media.
| Coverage Dates | CQ Weekly Report: 1983 to current. CQ Researcher: 1991 to current |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

