International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Indexes over 400 music journals (scholarly, applied, music education, and popular music), plus New York Times and Washington Post features and obituaries.
IIMP is updated monthly and is often more up-to-date than the other music databases. (It is not as good for pre-1996 literature; see comments below.) It includes citations and abstracts to English and non-English language articles from over 20 countries and covers a broad scope of research from performance, theory, composition, and history, to music education, jazz, ethnomusicology, popular music, and musical theater. It does not contain searchable full-text articles, but it has links from many citations to full-text articles in other databases to which UConn subscribes. IIMP is best suited for finding articles written 1996-present:
- 1996-present: Summaries of articles in over 400 journals. These include subject headings and abstracts that give further details and offer additional searchable keywords for access to information.
- Pre-1996: Citations to over 140 periodicals (about 90 go back to inception). These have only article author, article title, journal, date, etc., but no summaries. Keyword searches on specific topics may not find older articles since there are no subject headings or abstracts. However, this resource is useful for verifying known citations of older articles or authors.
| Coverage Dates | Full summaries 1996-present. Some journals go back to inception. |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

