Live Help
UConn Signature Image
Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or University of Connecticut VPN. Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Full-text of over 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Covers history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the world's largest library of the printed book on microfilm. Nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800. Search every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. The collection is an ongoing project based on The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC), a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private, and public libraries worldwide.
Also Known As:
Coverage Dates1701-1800
Allowed LocationsStorrs and Regional Campuses, UConn Health Center, UConn Law School
Access RestrictionsUniversity of Connecticut and VPN only
Concurrent UsersSilent

Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:

Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.

Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.