Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More

Vanderbilt University Television News Archive {Cancelled, ends 6/30/2016}

This resource has been cancelled and will cease on 6/30/2016. Please click on Details for more information.

This resource has been cancelled and access will cease on 6/30/2016.

You can find more information about the cancellation process at: http://lib.uconn.edu/services/collections/uconn-libraries-collections-review/

Updated weekly.

900,000 abstracts of evening news broadcasts from ABC, NBC, and CBS (August 1968 to present); daily news programs from CNN (1995 to present), FOX News (2004 to present) and ABC Nightline (12 September 1988 to present); and a selection of special programs, including coverage of elections, political conventions, events related to September 11, 2001, and more.

These special reports and periodic news broadcasts cover presidential press conferences and political campaign coverage, and national and international events such as the Watergate hearings, the plight of American hostages in Iran, the Persian Gulf war, and the terrorist attack on the United States on September 11, 2001.

RealPlayer required
Also Known As:
Coverage Dates1968 to present (NBC), 1995 to present (CNN)
Access RestrictionsUniversity of Connecticut only
Concurrent UsersSilent

Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. These resources may only be used for purposes of personal research, education, or other non-corporate use. While the vast majority of these online resources permit for use by affiliates, some restrict access to students, faculty, and staff only. For questions about, or help with, UConn Libraries' online resources, please contact ermsupport@lib.uconn.edu.

License agreements for online resources usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:

Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.

Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.