RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
To use this resource, you must be logged in to the University of Connecticut network or
University of Connecticut VPN.
Access to licensed research databases and electronic journals is limited to current
University of Connecticut students, faculty, and staff.
Indexes scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, scholarly reviews, etc. International coverage, including non-English languages.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (also known as Repertoire International de LittératureMusicale or International Repertory of Music Literature) is produced under the joint auspices of the International Musicological Society and the International Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centres at the RILM International Center at the City University of New York. (Learn more about RILM from the publisher's site.)
- Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. The database also covers various other fields as they relate to music, including librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy, and physics.
- Offers citations in 202 languages, including original language titles and English translations, full bibliographic information, abstracts in English, and in-depth subject indexes.
- In includes all formats of scholarly works -- articles (including non-music journals), books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, films and videos, conference proceedings and more. Concert reviews, recordings notes, and pedagogical manuals are included if they are of scholarly interest. See scope notes for more details.
- Updated monthly.
- Online version covers 1967-present. Print equivalent is at Music Ref. ML 118 R48 (1967-1998).
Tools to Help You Use RILM
- Journal Titles indexed in RILM
- RILM Classifications help you limit by category (e.g., musicology, pedagogy, theory).
- RILM Publication Type Codes Use these to limit by pub type (e.g., article, dissertation).
- Field Codes (e.g., TI=title, AU=author, SO=source, PY=publication year, etc.) can be helpful when searching. To learn more, consult "Help" in RILM.
| Coverage Dates | 1967-current |
|---|---|
| Access Restrictions | University of Connecticut and VPN only |
| Concurrent Users | Silent |
Note: The University of Connecticut Libraries purchases access to Licensed Electronic Resources on behalf of the University of Connecticut community. License agreements usually stipulate the following rights and restrictions:
Permitted Uses: Authorized Users may typically display, download, print, and copy a reasonable portion (generally one or two articles or one book chapter) of the Licensed Electronic Resource.
Restrictions: Systematic downloading, distributing, or retaining substantial portions of information or using software such as scripts, agents, or robots, to retrieve information is generally prohibited.

