Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Full Text

International bibliography of primary source material and music periodicals from 1760 to 1966, including the RIPM Archive of 114 full-text music periodicals. Chief resource for reception history, biography, musical life, iconography and advertisements.
The RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international bibliography of 19th and mid-20th century music periodical literature. It is a primary resource for reception history, biography, musical life, iconography and advertisements. It provides coverage of complete runs of music periodical literature and the content is international in scope, including indexing for materials published throughout Europe and the Americas in over twenty-three languages or dialects. The database consists of over 555,000 citations. Additional content is updated every six months and new volumes are added annually. Accessed through the RIPM Retrospective Index, the RIPM Online Archive is the only extensive collection available online for music periodicals dating from the Early Romantic to the Modern Period. The Archive contains 114 rare journals selected by international specialists, offers an almost daily chronicle of musical activities, and immense possibilities for original research. RIPM Online Archive is a full-text version of journals indexed in RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals. It is updated with new titles every six months.
Access RestrictionsUniversity of Connecticut only

Policy for Use of Licensed Electronic Resources

Use of the databases linked from these pages is governed by the UConn Library's Use of Licensed Electronic Resources Policy.

For questions or assistance, please contact ermsupport@uconn.edu.