Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More

Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library Parts 1-3

Text-searchable online archive of pre-twentieth-century Arabic printed books and translations covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature. Parts 1-3.
Based on A.G. Ellis’s catalogue of the British Library’s collection, Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library includes examples from over 400 years of books printed in Arabic script as well as translations into European and Asian languages from the period. Together, they demonstrate Europe’s fascination, study, and assimilation of ideas and knowledge originating in the Arabic-speaking world, with its rich heritage of science, poetry, and Islamic texts. Researchers can search the full text of items in Arabic, English, French, German, Latin, Italian, Dutch, and Spanish while also being able to discover content in Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Ottoman Turkish, Persian, Syriac, and seventeen other languages. Books can be searched thanks to newly developed optical character recognition software (OCR) for early Arabic printed script. Topics include Literature, Grammar, Language, Catalogues, and Periodicals (Part 1); Religion and Law (Part 2); and Sciences, History, and Geography (Part 3).
Coverage DatesComplete holdings.

Policy for Use of Licensed Electronic Resources

Use of the databases linked from these pages is governed by the UConn Library's Use of Licensed Electronic Resources Policy.

For questions or assistance, please contact ermsupport@lib.uconn.edu.