This page is currently being phased out and is no longer being updated. Access to our research databases is now through https://guides.lib.uconn.edu/az.php. There you will find the same information but with better search functions and an easier to use format. It also pulls together information on specific subject guides and contacts for help. We encourage you to bookmark the new page. For any issues, please contact ermsupport@uconn.edu.
Research Database Locator: Find Articles & More.

Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)

Digital archive for the Baltimore Afro-American‎ from 1893 to 1988. The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast and the first black newspaper to have foreign correspondents and female sports correspondents.
Founded by former slave John Henry Murphy Sr. when he merged three church publications, the Baltimore Afro-American became one of the most widely circulated African-American newspapers on the Atlantic Coast. In addition to featuring the first black female reporter (Murphy’s daughter) and female sportswriters, the paper’s contributors have included writer Langston Hughes, intellectual J. Saunders Redding, artist Romare Bearden, and sports editor Sam Lacy, whose column influenced the desegregation of professional sports. This newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Coverage Dates1893-1988
Access RestrictionsUniversity of Connecticut only

Policy for Use of Licensed Electronic Resources

Use of the databases linked from these pages is governed by the UConn Library's Use of Licensed Electronic Resources Policy.

For questions or assistance, please contact ermsupport@uconn.edu.